Monday, September 8, 2008


The traditional East Asian calendars divide a year into 24 solar terms . Lìqiū or Risshū is the 13th solar term. It begins when the Sun reaches the celestial longitude of 135° and ends when it reaches the longitude of 150°. It more often refers in particular to the day when the Sun is exactly at the celestial longitude of 135°. In the Gregorian calendar, it usually begins around August 7 and ends around August 23.

Liqiu signifies the beginning of autumn in East Asian cultures.

No comments: